-
724 F.2d 101·
10th Cir.·
1983-12-19
·cited 16×
The court held that an insurer's implied duty of good faith and fair dealing, giving rise to a tort claim, requires an existing insurance contract, and affirmed a directed verdict for the insurer on this claim when no contract was in force.
-
332 F.2d 645·
10th Cir.·
1964-06-08
·cited 16×
The court held that temporary insurance coverage was not in force because the conditions precedent in the conditional receipt were not met.
-
404 F.2d 167·
5th Cir.·
1968-11-19
·cited 14×
The court held that the suicide clause in the life insurance policy commenced on the date the risk attached (completion of medical exams), not the formal policy issue date, due to policy ambiguity and statutory interpretation.
-
207 So. 2d 733·
Fla. 3d DCA·
1968-02-27
·cited 13×
Delivery of an insurance policy to the insurer's agent constitutes delivery to the insured, and acceptance by the insured establishes a valid contract, even if an amendment form is not signed.
-
692 F.2d 296·
3d Cir.·
1982-11-04
·cited 12×
The court held that the insurance company failed to meet the clear and convincing evidence standard required by Pennsylvania law to prove the applicant had no reasonable basis for believing he had immediate insurance coverage.
-
248 F.2d 879·
8th Cir.·
1957-11-05
·cited 11×
The court held that the conditional receipt provided immediate insurance coverage, and the conditions for payment were satisfied upon the insured's death.
-
775 F.2d 777·
7th Cir.·
1985-09-30
·cited 8×
The court held that the applicant's beneficiaries could not recover on the life insurance policy because the applicant misrepresented his health and the evidence supported the finding that he applied for a specific, higher-risk policy for which he was ultimately deemed uninsurabl
-
356 F.2d 634·
8th Cir.·
1966-02-24
·cited 8×
The court reached the result that the insurer is liable, but the concurring judge disagreed with the majority's reasoning regarding the effective date of the contract.
-
314 F.2d 230·
8th Cir.·
1963-03-08
·cited 8×
The court held that the appellee's evidence in support of its motion for summary judgment was insufficient to establish the nonexistence of a genuine issue of material fact regarding whether an insurance policy was issued or became effective.
-
563 So. 2d 200·
Fla. 3d DCA·
1990-06-26
·cited 6×
Bankers Life appeals a partial summary judgment finding coverage exists under a reinstated medical insurance policy. The court affirmed, holding that the insurer's acceptance of a premium payment without issuing a conditional receipt, as required by statute and policy, resulted i
-
597 F.2d 705·
10th Cir.·
1979-04-30
·cited 6×
The court held that the life insurance policy had lapsed for non-payment of premiums prior to the insured's death, as the effective date was the application date, not the delivery date.
-
413 F.2d 819·
5th Cir.·
1969-06-23
·cited 6×
A beneficiary can recover insurance proceeds if the insurer's determination of uninsurability, based on alleged misrepresentations, was not made in good faith and with a reasonable basis.
-
296 F.2d 140·
8th Cir.·
1961-11-22
·cited 6×
The court held that no contract of insurance was formed because the applicant did not complete the required medical examination, and subsequent actions by the insurer did not create liability through waiver or estoppel.
-
631 F.2d 712·
10th Cir.·
1980-10-14
·cited 4×
No contract of insurance was in effect because the applicant failed to complete a required medical examination, a condition precedent to policy issuance, and the insurer did not approve the policy.
-
632 F.2d 667·
6th Cir.·
1980-10-13
·cited 4×
An insurance company's bad faith determination that an applicant was uninsurable, when that determination was a condition precedent to liability, excuses the nonoccurrence of the condition, making the policy effective as of the applicant's death.
-
566 F.2d 354·
D.C. Cir.·
1977-11-11
·cited 4×
The court held that the "date" of a life insurance policy, for the purpose of the incontestability clause, refers to the policy's effective date, which in this case was the earlier Policy Year Date, not the Date of Issue.
-
511 F.2d 577·
7th Cir.·
1975-02-12
·cited 4×
The court held that an ambiguous "continued insurability" clause in an insurance application, which could be reasonably misunderstood by a layman, will be construed against the insurer after the insured's death, preventing the insurer from denying coverage based on its own interp
-
497 F.2d 1225·
7th Cir.·
1974-05-31
·cited 4×
A conditional receipt for life insurance can create binding interim coverage if the applicant was insurable and acceptable under the company's rules at the time of application, even if the applicant dies before the company formally approves the policy.
-
416 F.2d 829·
6th Cir.·
1969-10-06
·cited 4×
The court held that the execution of a cognovit note constituted advance payment of the premium, and that ambiguities in the conditional receipt could be resolved by oral testimony, making the insurance effective.
-
408 F.2d 500·
8th Cir.·
1969-03-13
·cited 4×
A conditional receipt for life insurance does not provide interim coverage if the insurer, in good faith and according to its rules, determines the applicant was not insurable at standard rates on the application date.
-
379 F.2d 409·
4th Cir.·
1967-05-30
·cited 4×
A conditional receipt for life insurance may provide temporary coverage if the applicant is insurable, and ambiguities in such receipts are construed against the insurer.
-
538 F.2d 1057·
4th Cir.·
1976-05-12
·cited 2×
The court held that the suicide clause's two-year period commenced from the policy's formal or actual issue date, not the conditional receipt date, because the policy issued differed from the one applied for and was not accepted within the conditional receipt's terms.
-
441 F.2d 869·
8th Cir.·
1971-05-03
·cited 2×
The court held that no contract of insurance was formed because the conditions precedent for coverage, including premium payment and policy delivery, were not met, and the insured's refusal to sign the required note constituted a repudiation.
-
929 F.2d 402·
8th Cir.·
1991-03-29
-
560 So. 2d 413·
Fla. 1st DCA·
1990-05-03
Florida Industrial Machinery and two individuals sought to recover $500,000 under a life insurance policy for Robert A. Bean, who died before the policy was issued. The trial court granted summary judgment limiting recovery to $200,000 based on an unexecuted conditional receipt.
-
842 F.2d 175·
7th Cir.·
1988-03-15
The court held that the decedent's failure to disclose over $1,500,000 in other life insurance applications and policies constituted a material misrepresentation as a matter of law, voiding the policy under Illinois law.
-
696 F.2d 1311·
11th Cir.·
1983-01-31
The court held that the term 'date of issue' in the suicide clause of an insurance policy is ambiguous when it conflicts with the effective date established by a conditional receipt, and this ambiguity must be resolved in favor of the insured.
-
597 F.2d 90·
7th Cir.·
1979-04-18
The court held that the temporary life insurance coverage provided by a conditional receipt expired by its own terms 60 days after the application date, and was not in effect when the insured died thereafter.
-
104 So. 2d 792·
Fla. 2d DCA·
1958-08-01
Peninsular Life Insurance Company appealed a declaratory judgment awarding $25,000 in interim insurance proceeds to the beneficiary of a deceased applicant. The court reversed, holding that a conditional receipt requiring home office approval and acceptance before insurance took