HEALTH APPLICATION SYSTEMS, INC., APPELLANT,
v.
HARTFORD LIFE AND ACCIDENT INSURANCE COMPANY AND STATE OF FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND REHABILITATIVE SERVICES, A STATE AGENCY, APPELLEES
AI-generated. These summaries, headnotes, and key points are machine-generated and may contain errors or omissions. Always verify against the full opinion text below. Not legal advice.
Health Application Systems, Inc. (HAS) appealed dismissal of its counterclaim against the State of Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services (HRS) and third-party complaint against Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company arising from a Medicaid drug program contract dispute. The court affirmed the dismissals, holding that HAS had no direct claim against HRS based on an alleged assignment and was not a third-party beneficiary of Hartford's reinsurance agreement with the prime contractor.
The court held that HAS's counterclaim failed because the contract language did not constitute an assignment but merely a promise to pay, and even if it were an assignment, it would be unenforceable against HRS due to an anti-assignment clause in the HRS-PAID contract. HAS's third-party complaint failed because HAS was not a direct and intended beneficiary of the reinsurance agreement, which operated solely between PAID and Hartford, and HAS could not establish causes of action for indemnity, contribution, or subrogation.
[1] A contractual provision authorizing a party to retain a percentage of funds received does not constitute an assignment of those funds.
[2] An agreement to pay a debt out of a designated fund does not operate as a legal or equitable assignment if the assignor retains control over the subject matter.
Previewing 2 of 6 headnotes on this case. FLexlaw’s editorially structured points of law — every proposition, pinpointed — are reserved for members.
Join FLexlaw to unlock all legal intelligence“A mere agreement to pay a debt out of a designated fund does not operate as a legal or equitable assignment, since the assignor retains control over the subject matter.”
Establishes the legal standard distinguishing an assignment from a mere promise to pay, which is central to rejecting HAS's claim of an assignment from PAID.
Previewing 1 of 3 key quotes on this case — the court’s exact language, pinpointed for members.
Join FLexlaw to unlock all legal intelligenceHRS contracted with Paid Prescriptions, Inc. (PAID) to administer Florida's Medicaid drug program. PAID subcontracted with HAS to perform administrati…
The full statement of facts, procedural history, and disposition for this case are member content.
Join FLexlaw to unlock all legal intelligence© FLexlaw, Inc. — AI-generated enrichments are proprietary. All rights reserved.
Explore caselaw by topic → Browse Reinsurance Agreements cases and more on FLexlaw
LARRY G. SMITH, Judge.
This case deals with the sufficiency of pleadings filed in litigation arising from a contractual dispute. Health Application Systems, Inc. (HAS) appeals an order of the trial court dismissing, with prejudice, its counterclaim against appellee, State of Florida, Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services (HRS), and the third party complaint of HAS against appellee, Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company. The litigation was initiated by HRS, which sued Paid Prescriptions, Inc. (PAID), and HAS, claiming breach of contract and conversion of funds by PAID and HAS under PAID’s agreement with HRS for the furnishing of certain administrative services relating to the Florida Medicaid Drug Program. The issues on appeal are (1) whether HAS’s counterclaim against HRS stated a cause of action based upon an alleged assignment by PAID, to HAS, of certain funds payable under the contract between PAID and HRS; and (2) whether HAS’s third-party complaint states a cause of action against Hartford, in behalf of HAS as a third-party beneficiary of a reinsurance agreement between Hartford and PAID which protected PAID from losses under its contract with HRS. The third-party complaint also sought recovery against Hartford based upon theories of indemnification, contribution, or subrogation.
We agree with the trial judge’s ruling that neither the counterclaim nor the third-party complaint state a cause of action, and we affirm the orders of dismissal.
An explanation of the status of the parties and the manner in which the dispute arose will be helpful in understanding the issues. The State of Florida participates in the Medicaid program under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C.A. § 1396, et seq. (1974).
The State’s program provides pharmaceutical drug benefits to low income individuals. HRS, which is in charge of the program for the State, entered into a contract in 1974 with PAID to administer the program, keep records, and pay the pharmacists providing drugs to Medicaid recipients. PAID was compensated by HRS by fixed rate “premiums” based upon the number of eligible recipients receiving drugs. PAID protected itself against the possibility of loss under the 1974 contract by a “stop-loss” or reinsurance agreement with Hartford. The reinsurance agreement expired on June 30, 1976, the date on which the 1974 contract terminated. Although PAID and HRS entered into a second contract commencing July 1, 1976, no reinsurance-agreement was entered into with Hartford for coverage of this second contract.
PAID’s contractual arrangement with HAS was as follows: PAID subcontracted with HAS for HAS to perform certain duties under the 1974 and 1976 contracts, consisting of the administrative, managerial, and record keeping functions, including preparation of checks and making payments using PAID’s funds. For the services performed, HAS was to receive 9V'¿% of all contract premiums received by PAID from HRS.
The suit filed by HRS against PAID and HAS claims damages relating to the 1976 contract. HRS’s claim is that PAID and HAS breached the 1976 contract and converted funds paid by HRS under the 1976 contract by paying claims owed by PAID under the 1974 contract. HRS claims injury because the contract required PAID to maintain a reserve account for deposit of premiums paid by HRS, from which HRS was to receive the interest earned and 75% of the balance remaining at the expiration of the contract. HRS alleged that as a result of the improper payment of funds by PAID (through HAS), HRS sustained claimed damages in excess of three million dollars. After filing of the complaint, HRS and PAID, settled all claims against each other, and PAID was dismissed from the law suit.
Turning first to the issues relating to dismissal of HAS’s counterclaim against HRS, we note initially that the counterclaim, although in two counts, essentially is based upon HAS’s allegation that it has a cause of action directly against' HRS by virtue of an assignment by PAID to HAS of 9lh% of the premiums payable by HRS to PAID under the 1974 contract. We conclude, after examination of the pleadings, and the contracts attached as exhibits, that there was no assignment, and that consequently, dismissal of the counterclaim was proper. The pertinent language of HAS’s contract with PAID, relied upon by it as an assignment, is as follows:
“WHEREAS, PAID desires to subcontract certain of its obligations and to assign certain of its rights under the Third Party Contract to HAS; and “WHEREAS, HAS is willing to assume the obligations hereinafter referred to in consideration of the assignment of that portion of HAS’ rights under the contract hereinafter described;
“1. PAID does hereby subcontract to HAS and HAS does hereby assume and agree to perform all of the obligations imposed upon PAID pursuant to the following provisions of the Third Party Contract .
**
“3. PAID agrees to remit to HAS, or authorizes HAS to retain, as the case may be, nine and one-half (9‘A%) of the gross monthly premiums received by PAID, as the case may be, pursuant to the Third Party Contract . . . ” [Emphasis supplied] We parenthetically observe that under the Florida Rules of Civil Procedure, and case law interpreting the rule, exhibits attached to a pleading become a part for all purposes; and if an attached document negates the pleader’s cause of action or defense, the plain language of the document will control and may be the basis for a motion to dismiss. Rule 1.130(b), Florida Rules of Civil Procedure; Padgett v. First Federal S & L Ass’n, 378 So. 2d 58 (Fla. 1st DCA 1979). See also Trawick, Florida Practice and Procedure, § 6-15 at 75 (1978).
We think it is clear, as argued by HRS, that the contractual provision whereby HAS was to receive 91/2% of the gross monthly premiums “received by PAID”, does not constitute an assignment. A mere agreement to pay a debt out of a designated fund does not operate as a legal or equitable assignment, since the assignor retains control over the subject matter. Miller v. Wells Fargo, 540 F. 2d 548, 558 (2nd Cir. 1976). Such an agreement amounts only to a mere promise to pay, and does not meet the’ test of an intention on the part of the assignor to give, and of the assignee to receive, present ownership of the fund, Lone Star Cement Corp. v. Swartwout, 93 F. 2d 767, 770 (4th Cir. 1938).
A subcontractor does not, merely by virtue of the relationship with the principal contractor, become an assignee of funds due under the prime contract. Nickel v. Pollia, 179 F. 2d 160 (10th Cir. 1950). The rule with respect to subagents is stated in the Restatement of Agency 2d, § 458a as follows:
“If an agent employs a subagent, the agent is the employing person, and the principal is not a party to the contract, except where, by express agreement or otherwise, he becomes a surety. He is not, therefore, subject to pay the agreed compensation, nor is he subject to contractual liability to indemnify the sub-agent . . . ”.
The contract between HRS and PAID contained the following prohibition against assignment without written consent:
“The contractor shall not sell, transfer, assign or otherwise dispose of this contract or any portion thereof, or of right, title or interest therein, without written consent of the State agency . . .”. (Article VIII, J)
HAS’s counterclaim against HRS, alleging that PAID “assigned to HAS” its right to receive 9V2% of all gross monthly premiums, must yield to the specific language of the contract itself, which provides that “PAID agrees to remit to HAS, or authorizes HAS to retain, . . . nine and one-half (9V2%) of the gross monthly premiums received by PAID, . pursuant to the third-party contract”. Under the authorities cited, we hold that this does not constitute an assignment.
However, even if it be construed as an assignment, according to the interpretation placed upon the contract by HAS, it would not be enforceable against HRS because of the specific contractual provision between HRS and PAID prohibiting assignment without written consent of HRS.
We find nothing in the counterclaim, nor in the attachments thereto, stating that HRS agreed to the assignment. Although HRS consented to the assumption of certain of PAID’s obligations by HAS, as permitted by Article VIII D of the contract, this did not operate as a consent to an assignment under Article VIII J (quoted above), of any portion of the funds accruing to PAID from HRS. Under the circumstances, we must agree with the trial court’s determination that the counterclaim fails to disclose the existence of a duty on the part of HRS to pay to HAS the amounts HRS might have been obligated to pay under its contract with PAID.
We next consider the dismissal of HAS’s third-party complaint against Hartford.
We agree at the outset with Hartford’s contention that HAS is not a third-party beneficiary under Hartford’s 1974 stop-loss agreement with PAID. The agreement itself states that it is solely between PAID and HARTFORD. We can find no intent to benefit HAS or any other party except PAID, and the-agreement is not ambiguous. The general rule applicable to reinsurance agreements is that, in the absence of provisions to the contrary, a reinsurance agreement operates solely as between the reinsurer and the reinsured. McDonough Const. Co. v. Pan American Surety Co., 190 So. 2d 617 (Fla. 1st DCA 1966).
HAS is bound by the provisions of its contract with PAID. HAS had duties relating only to management of the program, and its operations were in no way insured or protected by the reinsurance agreement. HAS is bound by the rule (correctly stated in its brief) that in order to establish a claim based upon the stop-loss agreement, HAS must be shown to be a direct and intended beneficiary of the agreement, not merely an incidental beneficiary. American Surety Co. of New York v. Smith, 100 Fla. 1012, 130 So. 440 (1930); Marianna Lime Products Co. v. McKay, 109 Fla. 275, 147 So. 264 (1933).
It is further not disputed by HAS, that in order for this court to find the requisite intent to entitle HAS to sue as a third-party beneficiary, it must be shown that both PAID and Hartford intended to benefit HAS. On this point, HAS is bound by the plain and unambiguous language of the agreements themselves, and its own pleadings, which foreclose a finding of such intent.
We think there is some confusion in HAS’s argument concerning the scope of the Hartford reinsurance agreement. HAS’s brief (page 2) states that if premiums received from HRS exceeded total pharmacy claims paid, PAID made a profit; but if claims exceeded premiums, PAID would suffer a loss. The brief further states:
“To insure its risk of loss under the contract, . . . PAID entered into a reinsurance agreement by which Hartford agreed to reimburse PAID in the event contract claims exceeded premiums.” (HAS brief, page 2)
However, HAS’s brief (page 12) also contains an entirely different statement of this coverage:
“The agreement provides for Hartford to reimburse PAID,should it incur a loss in performing the 1974 contract. Such reimbursement would cover the losses of PAID, including the fees required to be paid to HAS and any other losses suffered by HAS as a result of its subcontract.”
We have examined the pleadings and documents,, but we can find no support for the contention that the reinsurance agreement provided coverage for sums owed by PAID to HAS, nor does it provide coverage for “any other losses suffered by HAS as a result of the subcontract” as argued by HAS. The reinsurance agreement defines “Covered Services” as services “for which a prescription is filled by a pharmacy” during the period covered by the reinsurance agreement. Reimbursement, under the agreement, was at the rate of ninety (90) per cent for covered services arranged, provided, reimbursed or paid for by PAID to the extent that the sum of the cost of such services, plus a claims administration expense allowance equal to 5% of such cost, exceeds 95% of the income received by PAID from HRS. We can conceive of no circumstances under which any payment made by Hartford to PAID would exceed the amount of drug claims actually incurred by PAID. It is therefore difficult to understand the basis for HAS’s argument that the agreement provided coverage for losses sustained by HAS.
HAS has also attempted to allege a cause of action against Hartford based upon indemnity, on the theory that Hartford, not HAS, was responsible for any injury to HRS. HAS argues in this connection that but for Hartford’s wrongful refusal to pay PAID for its alleged loss covered by the stop-loss agreement, PAID would not have been compelled to use 1976 funds to pay 1974 contract claims — thus, HRS would have suffered no loss. We are unable to accept HAS’s allegation that Hartford’s failure to fulfill its obligations to PAID under the stop-loss agreement “caused” PAID to utilize 1976 contract premiums to satisfy its obligations under the 1974 contract. The allegation as to causation is a conclusion which does not follow from the facts alleged. That PAID did (through HAS) wrongfully pay out the 1976 funds is a fact; but Hartford’s failure to pay to PAID funds due under a separate and distinct contract (the 1974 contract) cannot logically be the “cause” of the wrongful payment.
This claim of “implied contract of indemnity” rests also upon HAS’s claim of status as a third-party beneficiary of the stop-loss agreement, a contention we have already rejected. The claim of a right to indemnity must therefore also fall.
We find no basis for the contention that Hartford is guilty of tortious conduct. We fail to find within the allegations of the counterclaim any allegation of breach of duty by Hartford other than that arising under the reinsurance contract, as to which HAS was neither a party nor a third-party beneficiary. Nor is there any allegation of common liability, which would be necessary to support a claim of contribution. Similarly, we can find no basis upon which HAS may recover by way of subrogation against Hartford. The claims of HRS against PAID and HAS arise out of the misapplication of funds paid out by HRS under the 1976 contract, as to which Hartford has no liability.
For the foregoing reasons, the orders of dismissal, with prejudice, are affirmed.
McCORD and SHIVERS, JJ., concur.
Cases With Similar Vibessemantic neighbors from the corpus
Citator
Cited By (26 total)
-
Morton L. Ginsberg & MLG Props., Inc. v. Lennar Fla. Holdings, 645 So. 2d 490 (Fla. 3d DCA 1994)…hibits to the complaint those exhibits become part of the pleading and the court will review those exhibits accordingly. See and compare Franz Tractor v. J.I. Case, 566 So. 2d 524 (Fla. 2d DCA 1990); Health Application Systems v. Hartford Life Ins., 381 So. 2d 294 (Fla. 1st DCA 1980); McClurkin v. Parrish Volvo, 317 So. 2d 85 (Fla. 1st DCA 1975). We are not bound by Lennar’s interpretation of the attached exhibits. The conclusions of the pleader, as to the meaning of the exhibits attached to the complaint, ar…
-
A.S.J. Drugs, Inc. v. Berkowitz, 459 So. 2d 348 (Fla. 4th DCA 1984)…s only a request that Greer’s employer fill in the blanks of a form with appropriate answers, and is not a representation as to the correctness of those answers. Under Health Application Systems, Inc. v. Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company, 381 So. 2d 294 (Fla. 1st DCA 1980) and Florida Rule of Civil Procedure 1.130(b), if the exhibit attached and incorporated by a pleading contradicts the cause of action, then the document will control and may serve as a basis for a motion to dismiss. In this case,…
-
Fladell v. Palm Beach Cnty. Canvassing Bd., 772 So. 2d 1240 (Fla. 2000)…P. 1.130(b). If an exhibit facially negates the cause of action asserted, the document attached as an exhibit controls and must be considered in determining a motion to dismiss. See Health Application Sys., Inc. v. Hartford Life & Accident Ins. Co., 381 So. 2d 294, 297 (Fla. 1st DCA 1980). As a general rule, a court should not void an election for ballot form defects unless such defects cause the ballot to be in substantial noncompliance with the statutory election requirements. See Nelson v. Robinson, 301 S…
Previewing 3 of 26 citing cases — full citator treatment, depth of discussion, and citing context are member features.
Join FLexlaw to unlock all legal intelligenceAuthorities Cited
- Am. Sur. Co. of N.Y. v. R. Nelson Smith in Bankr. for Jacksonville Marble & Tile Co., 100 Fla. 1012 (Fla. 1930)
- Marianna Lime Prods. Co. v. McKay, 109 Fla. 275 (Fla. 1933)
- Padgett v. First Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n OF Santa Rosa Cnty., 378 So. 2d 58 (Fla. 1st DCA 1979)
- Alan B. Miller in Bankr. of Am. IBC Corp. v. Wells Fargo Bank Int'l Corp., 540 F.2d 548 (2d Cir. 1976)
- McDONOUGH Constr. Corp. v. PAN Am. Sur. Co., 190 So. 2d 617 (Fla. 1st DCA 1966)
- Lone Star Cement Corp. v. Swartwout, 93 F.2d 767 (4th Cir. 1938)
- Nickel v. Pollia, 179 F.2d 160 (10th Cir. 1950)